Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 6th, 2015

Crushed Ice!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “First Crush.”

My first crush was a dance teacher’s assistant. I was 17 years old. Me joining a dance class was a great deal as my granny said I could join only when I start earning. Luckily my diploma course had an option for internship, which allowed me to earn enough to join the class.

I admired the dance teacher as he taught Jazz which I thought could never be a possibility in my hometown. One day as usual I took my last row position. In walks this hunk with his gym bag, changes and joins my line. He helped me with various workouts. I wondered who he was and then got introduced as an assistant to my dance teacher.

I had a major crush. Daydreaming was my favorite pastime. He was the world around which I revolved. I waited for hours to see him dance. During one of the shows he had to give me a 1×1 tutoring of the steps I couldn’t get right. Oh the simple pleasures of life.

The very same day, during one of the breaks after dance practise, I was having flavored crushed ice, a local delicacy during summers. It was also the moment that I found out he being in a committed relationship with another dancer. Sound of ice being crushed woke me from my shock. Somehow I found the whole thing funny and laughed it off.

This was just the beginning of such lovely crushes in my life. All of them were and are simple as crushed ice.

When I think about it now, I find it funny. However, without such simple uncomplicated crushes, life would be so boring. If I get to meet him now, I would say  “you were my first crushed ice”,

Read Full Post »